Post Q of the Pennsylvania Division

Featured, Membership News, Press Releases

09.04.19 | Al Shoemaker

Post Q of the Pennsylvania Division of the Travelers Protective Association of America (TPA) participated in the annual Labor Day Coffee Break. Post members provided free coffee, iced tea, lemonade, water, doughnuts, cookies and bananas for Labor Day travelers. Edwin Miller, Post Q secretary and Pennsylvania Labor Day chairman, said the annual coffee breaks “have been a welcome relief for weary travelers heading home on the last holiday of summer.’’ Post members manned their stand from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and provided more than 400 cups of coffee, 400 cold drinks, plenty of doughnuts and cookies, and 50 pounds of fresh bananas. They also had TPA safety literature on hand for travelers. “We are very grateful to our members who give up their holiday weekend to help travelers take a break on their way home,’’ said Bill Kern, Jr., post president. “We want to thank the businesses that made it possible for the post to conduct the break, including: Bill’s Produce in Schuylkill Haven; Brok-Sel Markets in Pottsville; BG’s Value Market in Minersville; Boyer’s Iga in Pottsville; Weis Markets in Pottsville; and Giant Markets in Pottsville and Cressona. All donations given at the coffee break will go to TPA’s charitable arms, the Scholarship Trust for the Hearing Impaired and the Homer T. Wilson Benevolent Fund.’’ Post Q meets at 6 p.m. the first Wednesday of each month at the Good American Fire Company Hall on East Mahanoy Street in Mahanoy City. New members are always welcome!

About the Scholarship Trust for the Hearing Impaired
Established by TPA in 1975, an independent 501(c)(3) organization, the Scholarship Trust accepts tax deductible donations from TPA members, posts and divisions; nonmembers, businesses, foundations and all other legal entities. To learn more, make a contribution to the Scholarship Trust or to apply for aid, please visit

Picture from left to right: Edwin Miller; Barbara Paravicini; Bill Kern, Jr.; Ervin Paravicini; Suzanne Kern; Harry Spankler; Harry O. Meyers; and Dolores Miller.


Become part of a dedicated fraternal benefit association to network, volunteer, and create life-long friendships.